The MoWR, RD & GR is the partner authority for the India-EU Water Partnership (IEWP). The MoWR, RD & GR is responsible for formulating policy guidelines and programmes for the development and regulation of the country's water resources. In their endeavours, they are supported by several aligned technical agencies.

Key agencies supporting the implementation of the IEWP Action Plan include:

Central Water Commission (CWC), MoWR, RD & GR:

CWC is India’s premier technical organization for initiating, coordinating and strengthening in consultation with the concerned state governments, schemes for control, conservation and utilization of surface water resources for the purpose of flood control, irrigation, navigation, drinking water supply and hydropower development. The CWC and its regional offices in collaboration with European experts support the planning and implementation of the IEWP activities.

Central Ground Water Board (CGWB), MoWR, RD & GR:

CGWB is India’s premier scientific organisation for the sustainable development and management of groundwater resources in India. The CGWB and its regional offices in collaboration with the European experts are important partners for achieving activities agreed under the IEWP on groundwater aspects.

National Mission for Clean Ganga (NMCG), MoWR, RD & GR:

MoWR, RD & GR: NMCG is an implementation body of the National Ganga Council. Its mandate is to ensure abatement of pollution and rejuvenation of River Ganga by adopting a River Basin Management Approach and to maintain minimum environmental flows in the River Ganga with the aim of ensuring good water quality and environmentally sustainable development. As the IEWP has a special focus on Ganga Rejuvenation and Environmental Flows, of which NMCG is a key partner.

National Water Academy (NWA), MoWR, RD & GR:

The main mandate of NWA is to undertake training of the in-service engineers of various Central/State organizations involved in the development and management of water resources. Thus, NWA is a core partner for planning and organising capacity building measures under the IEWP.

Water Resource Department (WRD) of Selected States:

WRD of the States of Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Kerala, Odisha, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Bihar, West Bengal, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh are providing administrative support and technical inputs on various activities under the IEWP.

Other National Institutions:

Sector specific National Institutions such as Central Inland Fisheries Research Institute (CIFRI), Wildlife Institute of India (WII), National Institute of Hydrology (NIH), Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (IITK) and others are often involved under IEWP activities.